Info Burgers » Studies » Cross-border hydrogen value chain in the Benelux and its neighbouring regions

Identifying and connecting renewable hydrogen demand and supply via the cross-border hydrogen backbone

Europea is accelerating its transition towards a green hydrogen inclusive economy.Recent geopolitical and energy market volatilities require member states to drastically accelerate the energy transition and increase Europe’s energy independence from fossil fuels. In REPowerEU, the European Commission sets a target of 10 million tons of domestic renewable hydrogen production and 10 million tons of renewable hydrogen imports by 2030. Meeting these targets requires a rapid acceleration of the development of hydrogen demand market, production, infrastructure, storage facilities and import. Moreover, the supporting and facilitating policy and legislation need to be in place in no time.

The following dashboard gives an indication of the hydrogen demand and supply in the Benelux, its neighboring regions, and the rest of the EU27 by 2030 and 2050.

This study focuses on the demand of hydrogen by 2030 and 2050 covering the Benelux-countries and its neighbouring regions of France (Hauts-de-France, Grand Est) and Germany (North Rhine-Westphalia, Saarland, Rhineland-Palatinate, Lower Saxony). A set of recommendations is established for policy makers to foster cross-border cooperation in the deployment of hydrogen demand by 2030 and 2050.

Publication Date

February 2023


General Secretariat of the Benelux Union
Rue de la Régence, 39
1000 Brussels


WaterstofNet Vzw

  • Samira Farahani
  • Michel Honselaar


  • FPS Economy, S.M.E.s, Self-employed and Energy (Federal Belgium)
  • PSW Land, housing, heritage and energy (Wallonia)
  • Flemish Government, Department of Economy, Science & Innovation (Flanders)
  • Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy (The Netherlands)
  • Ministry of Energy and Spatial Planning (Luxembourg)

Neighbouring regions

  • Hauts-de-France (France)
  • Grand Est (France)
  • North Rhine-Westphalia (Germany)
  • Saarland (Germany)
  • Rhineland-Palatinate (Germany)
  • Lower Saxony (Germany)